Barriere Awards $42K in Post-Secondary Scholarships for 2023

On Wednesday, January 25th, Barriere hosted its annual post-secondary scholarship ceremony at the Boutte Training Center. Barriere President/CEO Jason Latiolais and former President/CEO Peter Wilson awarded a total of $42,000 to seven deserving students. 

Funded by contributions from Bob and Ellen Thompson, the Acott/Wilson Asphalt Industry Scholarship was established to honor past NAPA president Michael Acott and to recognize the many asphalt industry contributions and accomplishments made by the Wilson family who owned and operated Barriere for 70+ years.

To qualify for the Acott/Wilson scholarship, applicants must be seeking an undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering or Construction Management. Although we received many applications, seven candidates stood out for their accomplishments and for their strong commitment to excelling in the construction industry. 

Barriere is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Acott/Wilson Asphalt Industry Scholarships:

Connor Caillet
Parker LeBlanc
Hannah Milhet
William Perilloux
Isabella Robert 
Clark Romig
Andrew Taylor

Barriere would like to congratulate our 2023 scholars, each of whom received $7,000 to help fund their education and encourage their path in construction.

One of the ways Barriere upholds our commitment of continuous improvement is through our investment and encouragement of continued education. The more we can encourage bright young students like these to pursue careers in construction, the better off we will be as a company, and as an industry.


Get in touch to receive information or an estimate for your upcoming project.


Come join our team to make a difference in your community.